Some Newb Questions...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some Newb Questions...

Hi, I'm new to this stuff and I got some questions...

1. Proper Breathing? Is there a wrong way and right way to breathe when doing muscle building exercises?

2. I remember reading something about this a long time ago, but I can't find any info now. Like for example, when you are doing a pushup, are you supposed to breathe in when you are pushing up, then breathe out when you go down, or is it the other way around, or does it not matter? And what is the reason for doing it that way?

3. What about for situps? or bicep lifting reps? squats?

4. Is breathing different for aerobic exercises? What are you supposed to do?

5. How long after a workout are you supposed to take a post workout shake? Immediately after? Or a couple minutes after while you're relaxing?

Thanks in advance
    Last edited by DragonGT; 07-11-05, 09:41 PM.

Originally posted by DragonGT
    Hi, I'm new to this stuff and I got some questions...

1. Proper Breathing? Is there a wrong way and right way to breathe when doing muscle building exercises?

2. I remember reading something about this a long time ago, but I can't find any info now. Like for example, when you are doing a pushup, are you supposed to breathe in when you are pushing up, then breathe out when you go down, or is it the other way around, or does it not matter? And what is the reason for doing it that way?

3. What about for situps? or bicep lifting reps? squats?

4. Is breathing different for aerobic exercises? What are you supposed to do?

5. How long after a workout are you supposed to take a post workout shake? Immediately after? Or a couple minutes after while you're relaxing?

Thanks in advance

1. Yes there is a proper way. Breathe out during contraction.

2. yes that is right. Breathing in before contraction fills the blood with oxygen.

3. all the same as any other.