Bench Presses (Not adding weight)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bench Presses (Not adding weight)

First of all, I am new to the forum and I'm glad to be here. I have been working out for 2 or 3 years, but nothing really serious. I play college golf, so I am not trying to get all that big, but a decent amount of size wont hurt too much as long as I keep up my stretching too.

Anyway, now that my background is out of the way, I have been having problems with improving my bench gains. As of now, I am looking more for strength than for size, due to the fact that I already have a fairly well defined and good sized chest. I am 6'0" and 180 lbs. I work out 3 days a week (Thats the most we can get in the weight room) My workout schedule is basically like this.

(*Side note, since I can only work out 3 days a week, and our time is somewhat limited, I divide my leg excercises up throught the week so I can get them all in.)

Sun- Chest/Triceps/Leg Press/Abs
    Mon- Rest
    Tues- Back/Biceps/Forearems/Leg Extensions
    Wed- Rest
    Thurs- Shoulders/Triceps/Abs/Leg Curls & Calf Raises
    Fri & Sat- Rest

I'll try to go through the excercises I do on Sunday and Thursday, since they will probably most affect my bench presses.

Sunday- Bench Press (Usually 10-8-6-To failure on last set with about 185ish)/Incline Flies/Close grip bench/Tricep Extensions/Skull crushers/Tricep pulldowns

Then on Thursday I do triceps again to go along with my shoulders, since they are a valuable muscle to the golf swing.

Thursday- Bench Presses (nothing big, just light weight 6 sets of 6 reps, mainly working on my speed going up)/Shoulder presses/Lateral raises/Front raises/Skull crushers/Tricep pulldowns/Dips