Hey guys, Newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey guys, Newbie

Hey all Just wanted to say hello. I am starting to lift weights but I am finding it difficult to find information about where to begin. At the very beginning, And I mean questions relating to whether or not i should try to lose weight first and then start lifting for strength, or just start for strength right away. The information on the internet is always different from site to site. I am looking to look good for my wedding in 6 months and I have access to great food as I am a chef. I am wondering if anyone else has been in the same position and could shine a light. Thanks for any help you can give.:thumup:

Depends on just how much weight you have to lose?

Putting on muscle will burn calories in and off itself.

But in general if you've never dieted, trained, or done cardio you'll benefit a great deal by simply starting all 3.

If your obese obviously my recommendation would be to make losing fat priority number 1.

Comment

Welcome to the forum.

Comment

Thanks for the welcome! :)I need to lose 10 kg to reach my proper bmi, Im 6.2 95 kg. I wouldnt say im obese but id be pretty close I just look a bit like a pear, No fat a lot of fat on my arms or legs as i am constantly working.(I shudder to think what I would look like without working every day haha). Or does 10kg count as obese? And is 6 months long enough to lose 10kg of fat? I mean if i start at around 2000 calories a day and working out for around 1 hour a day? I downloaded a calorie counter. Or does that not really matter at the start? Thanks heaps for the answers, I appreciate it.

Comment