To Add Or Not To Add Protein Powder?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Add Or Not To Add Protein Powder?

So I've been doing the whole food thing for a few years now. Now powder whatsoever. I'm thinking of adding it back in for 1 reason.. PWO. Sometimes almost 2 hours goes by between the end of my workout and my PWO meal. If the bro science of a "PWO window" is to be believed I am missing out on a valuable time when my body needs nutrients.

Thoughts for or against? Does that PWO window immediately after training really matter or is it something that we think matters but in the real world the difference is negligible?

There's plenty of evidence that consuming proper nutrients after a workout, helps recovery and repair torn muscle.

For me? After my training, whether it be running, xfit or reg gym stuff....well I go home afterwards and it takes me about 4mns if i go to the gym and 20mns if I'm at xfit. Although many times I've not gone home right away and that's fine. I really try my hardest to not let it consume me.

Although being in really good fit shape, does require tons of work and because of that, I try to focus on other shit.

But good post. I've wondered myself since I've been on both sides; taking my nutrients right after and not taking anything.

Comment

Yup add it in. I'm not looking at from recovery angle but fact that you are trying to put on size means you have to increase your protein intake. And your intake is limited with just chicken breast or solid foods, so getting extra 50 or more grams of protein a day is going to help you with that.

Comment

A little whIle ago I spoke to a pro-weightlifting nutritionist and that was one of my questions. He said that the windows for nutrient intake is a lot bigger than most people think and whether you consume the protein right after working out or a couple hours later, it makes little difference, just don't wait more than a couple hours.