Football training question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Football training question?

Im already 22 years of age but remember when i was in high school and was in footnball. I was a freshman at the time in 1996. We used to workout a scheduale like this:

Mondays: drills then upper body (bench presses, incline, delcine)

Tuesdays: drills then lower body (deadlifts, power cleans, squats)

Wednesdays: same as mondays (upper body)

Thursdays: same as tuesdays (lower body)

Fridays: either train as Mondays and Wed or prepare for game.

The thing is, with all the training and all, for the games most were tired and worn out like crazy. Doing heavy presses and squats at the time. Isnt it bad for us at the time to be training like that. Being all overtrained and all. Not eating proper. Coaches telling us to eat everything in site and i mean anything. I know this all depends on the type of programs the coaches are running. Would it be better just hitting the muscles once a week hard and heavy and focus more on how to perfect the players skills and plays. I know weights are an important part of football but having us at the time train like this, its hard when ur tired and playing a game. Also making them faster instead of being all tired. Thats another reason why i never put on muscle during high school. Open weight room after school and the trainings at 12 pm. Tired
    Last edited by JUICE; 09-05-04, 03:17 AM.

all the highschool football coaches are dumbasses :D........at least the ones around here anyway

Comment

Originally posted by CreepingDeath
      all the highschool football coaches are dumbasses :D........at least the ones around here anyway

the ones from here suck nuts. Expect one school who always win distrit and makes it to the 3rd round playoffs but the rest suck nuts.

Comment