Do you use a weight lifting belt?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you use a weight lifting belt?

I never have since the day I started lifting. There just always something in my head that if I need anything other than straps to lift, I shouldn't be doing it. I understand there are people who have had injuries and such over time. But for those who do use wieght belts, but don't have any real problems, what makes you want to use it?
    Last edited by Shibby; 12-22-05, 01:57 PM.

Only on the heaviest of squats or deads. People that use them for every lift are asking for an injury IMO.

Comment

I've never used one before

Comment

Originally posted by Friggemall
        Only on the heaviest of squats or deads. People that use them for every lift are asking for an injury IMO.
        I'm curios as to why you choose to on those lifts?

Comment

I've never used one. I don't think I really need to though. They say using the belt takes things away from the lift, like building a stronger core. I go heavy on squats and deads, but it seems that if my technique is good, I won't get injured. So far so good. I don't use straps either. I like to build the grip.

Comment

Originally posted by beefcake
            I've never used one. I don't think I really need to though. They say using the belt takes things away from the lift, like building a stronger core. I go heavy on squats and deads, but it seems that if my technique is good, I won't get injured. So far so good. I don't use straps either. I like to build the grip.

I like straps because I don't want to be restricted to the strength of my grip.

Comment

ditto, I use straps on heavy deads, and a lot on back day...I still try to do as much as I can without, but if I start with deads, RDLs, and chins, usually my forearms don't have anything left for lat pulls, b/o rows, seated rows...stuff like that. I could go without them, but not with enough weight to feel it in my back